March 20 – A story of how I have been served or served someone else is…

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

-Jeremiah 29:11

It was a year of struggle. With short notice (a combat assignment to Southeast Asia), our family had to clear base housing and resettle myself and our three young children elsewhere. One frazzled day, soon after seeing my husband off, the Chaplain from the nearby Air Force base called. There was a music position open at the base Chapel, and my name had been suggested by a friend. I was pleased to be considered, but begged off, being certain I couldn’t manage adding another responsibility to my overwhelmed life. After a pause, the Chaplain quietly said, “You know, we can supply child care and… we think you need us as much as we need you!”

That year, being in close fellowship with strong leaders and believers, brought uncounted blessings and joys that were uplifting to everybody. The music program went surprisingly well, my children were shaped by loving, Christian care, and my husband returned safely – knowing his family had been well looked-after during a worrisome year. Thanks be to God!

-Sharon Clark

Leave a Reply

