March 19 – A story of how I have been served or served someone else is…

Matthew 25:40 “and the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’”

I once tutored a 9-year-old boy in reading. His teacher and I were friends from church, and she told me the boy had a “tough” home life, and needed a male presence as much as some help in reading.

When we worked together, we would read stories, and then I would ask questions about the story’s meaning. He never smiled, although I tried my best to get one out of him. He was very small for his age, quiet, and non-responsive. We met together for most of the school year, and lots of good “man to man” discussions. I finally got a grin one day, and it made me feel good.

He became proficient enough in reading to go back to his class, and the only time I saw him was when passing in the school hallway.

A few days before school was over, I had just finished with another student when the boy came in, and gave me a big hug. No words came from either of us. It was, for me, a little sniff of heaven.

Lord, visit my heart and help me to share your love with others when opportunities arise

                                                                                                                                -Bert Clark

Leave a Reply

